Face Your Fashion Fears Challenge: Wearing Off Shoulders

As a fashion blogger, I always challenge myself to wear different styles on different occasions. But oftentimes, I fall flat with the choices that make me feel comfortable and impeccable especially when I beat the drums for certain fashion and beauty brands and products. I might not often show it, but yes, I am a very insecure person.

I wish I could say I am one of those people who are confident with themselves for who they are, no matter what they look. Unfortunately, that’s not me. I don’t have that speckless look and pretty face enough to get me into the spotlight. I don’t have that Victoria’s Secret prototype body that would lead me to the runway. I am just a normal human being who has crazy varicose, glaring scars and rustler arms who can’t resist the charms of cheeseburger and fries every night after work. And most often, these flaws hold me back from taking risks in the fashion department.

Inspired by “Try Day Friday” ofΒ Dia & Co, aΒ premier plus size clothing and personal styling service for women, I was challenged to try something new and face my fashion fears today. So here I am, wearing one the fashion styles that usually makes me shy away from the crowd – the off shoulder trend. It’s a little off the grid for a petite person like me to have chunky boughs. But beyond putting on view my podgy arms is the fear that you might see that huge keloid on my left shoulder stretching out to my back. It’s an awful sight I want to go unnoticed through sleeves or straps.

But today I am laying it bare with this off shoulder piece, not for you to ridicule my scars (though you could not clearly see it from these photos) but for you to realize that we can be gorgeous despite our imperfections. Beauty, after all, is not in the eye of the beholder. Beauty is within us, we just need to overcome our insecurities and embrace our flaws so our beauty can shine from inside out.

How about you? Would you take the challenge to get out of your comfort clothes and face your fashion fears? =)

Head Piece – Parkmall / Coverup Dress – LBotique / Accessories – Handmade Strozzi

2 thoughts on “Face Your Fashion Fears Challenge: Wearing Off Shoulders

Leave a Reply

